Meet the Team: AJ Edelbrock

//Meet the Team: AJ Edelbrock
Webinar: What does it take to DO (and Scale) Customer Success? Register Now

Meet the Team: AJ Edelbrock

By | 2018-06-04T18:25:36+00:00 June 4th, 2018|Meet the Team|0 Comments

 

AJ Edelbrock Rock Climbing

Click on this photo to see a GIF of AJ scaling the Snake Pit at Hoosier Heights Indianapolis!

 

Get to know Bolstra’s first-ever Integrations Engineer! He joined in January 2018 and after only six months, we couldn’t imagine our team without him. AJ (occasionally known as Andrew) got connected with Bolstra from The Grid by Techpoint – he hails from Purdue University (don’t worry there isn’t any university rivalry in the office… yet.)

Read on to meet AJ, and learn more about The Grid here:

 

Where did you go to school and what did you major in?

I graduated from Purdue University in 2017. My degree is a B.S. of Computer Science, concentrations in Machine Intelligence and Database and Information Systems, minor in Mathematics.

 

What do you do at Bolstra on a day-to-day? Who do you work with?

I’m an Integration Engineer, so I work with our CS team to create custom integrations and product extensions for our clients. This allows us to pull additional data into Bolstra, send data out to other products, and extra functionality for data staying inside of Bolstra. I also interact with the Dev team and do some base product work.

 

What do you like to do when you aren’t working?

I love the outdoors. I go rock climbing indoors regularly, and natural face rock climbing when I can in the summer and fall. I really enjoy camping, hiking, trap shooting, riding my motorcycle, and playing video games.

 

What is the key to happiness?

42. But really it’s just going with the flow, finding your niche and enjoying the moment. Sometimes you just have to sit around a campfire with friends for 3 days, but you have to learn to relax.

 

What is your must-have piece of technology?

My desktop computer. As a computer science major, I have invested quite a bit of time behind those screens.

 

What is one fun fact you would like to share about yourself?

I’m scared of heights (not petrified, but still quite scared), but love doing high-up things: rock climbing, skydiving, roller coasters, etc. I want to go bungee jumping, but haven’t found a good place that’s within a reasonable distance.

 

What would you be doing if you weren’t working at Bolstra?

Probably working as a programmer at a different company. Computer Science majors are highly sought, so I’d just be somewhere else. But if I hadn’t chosen Computer Science, I would have picked Mechanical or Aerospace Engineering, and that would have put me in quite a different area.

 

What is your favorite movie genre?

Science Fiction, that also goes for TV Shows as well. Favorite (and most watched) TV show is Stargate SG-1

 

Favorite Movie?

Might not be the favorite in terms of awe and grandeur, but definitely favorite in terms of rewatches, quote-ability, and overall; Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

 

What is your favorite music genre?

Alt rock / rock / pop punk / ska. Some favorite bands include: Alestorm, All American Rejects, Green Day, Linkin Park, Mad Caddies, Mayday Parade, Skillet, Streetlight Manifesto, Three Days Grace, Yellowcard

 

If you could eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Steak. Definitely Steak. Nice and medium-rare. You can change the seasonings and rubs for variety.

 

What are your favorite video games?

I have many, but my top 5 favorite games would be Skyrim, Counter Strike Global Offensive, Elite Dangerous, Portal series, and Fallout series.

 

Cats or dogs?  

I don’t dislike cats, but dogs are clearly superior companions. We’ve always had dogs growing up. Currently, I don’t have any dogs (what with all the moving and relocating), but that will probably change in the next year.

 

Coffee, Tea or Soda?

This is the Midwest, it’s pop not soda, and definitely pop over tea or coffee. I just don’t drink coffee or tea at all. I’m thinking about trying to get into coffee, but it’s an acquired taste like beer. Speaking of beer (trumps pop), porters and stouts are my favorites. Favorites include: Breakfast Stout (Founders), Dragon’s Milk (New Holland), Nitro Milk Stout (Left Hand), Teddy Bear Kisses (Upland), Victory at Sea (Ballast Point)

 

Morning or evening?

Definitely an evening person. I’m not fully awake until at least 2 hours after I’ve gotten up.

 

What would you do if you won the lottery?

Get a house, not a fancy one though. It would have a decent sized garage though. I’d also get an adventure touring motorcycle, so I could take it camping. The remaining would be split between just saving in a bank, and investing.

 

Thanks for the detail, AJ! Get to know the rest of our team here. 

Leave A Comment